Tomatillos!

25 Sep

A couple of produce packs ago I received a handful of tomatillos and some serious hot yellow peppers. They have been sitting on my counter for a couple weeks staring at me every time I pass by. I’ve never cooked with tomatillos before so I was a little unsure of what to do. If you didn’t know, a tomatillo is a green tomato type fruit that originated in Mexico. It grows with a papery husk that you remove before cooking. It has a high pectin content so it is suited to jams and preserves as well. One of the most common application of this little green wonder is in salsa verde.

20120924-232656.jpg

First step is to remove all the husks from your tomatillos. I cut mine in half and placed them on a baking sheet with onions, jalapenos, garlic and a hot yellow pepper. I sprinkled salt, pepper and cumin as well I drizzled olive oil over them. Turn your oven onto the broiler setting and place the tray on the bottom rack. Parchment paper burned too quick so I recommend to use foil instead.
Watch closely and take the tray out of the oven when everything looks charred, about 7-10 mins.
Take out and let cool a bit. I removed the seeds from the yellow pepper but left the jalapenos intact. Throw everything into a food processor and pulse.

This salsa is HOT! But not in a mouth-burning-I-can’t-feel-my-tongue-anymore hot. It’s a lingering heat which I really enjoyed. Feels good to cook with a new ingredient and branch out a little. Try it, you will love this!

20120924-234020.jpg

Tomatillo Salsa

6-7 tomatillos
2 small jalapenos
1 onion
1 garlic clove, peeled
1 hot yellow pepper
olive oil
salt and pepper
ground cumin

Leave a Reply

