Cardamom brown butter banana bread

5 Jul

That’s a mouthful of a title there! I’ve made banana bread many times with my moms no fail BEST banana bread recipe. So good….
But I’m trying to branch out on my own with recipes and flavors so I’ve come up with this little tasty bread. I’m working on my health so I’m slowly going to be working in healthier versions of my favorite baked goods. I feel this is a healthier version because I’ve used just egg whites instead of whole eggs,less sugar, and heart healthy margarine instead of butter. I miss butter already….
Anyways, the bread turned out good. Not as moist and buttery as my moms version. Nothing a little jam and butter (or margarine!) smeared on top can’t fix!

20120705-160409.jpg

Cardamom brown butter banana bread

2 cups flour
3 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
2/3 cup brown sugar
1 1/2 cups smashed bananas (about 3-4)
6 tbsp egg whites (same as 2 eggs)
1/2 cup browned butter (I used margarine) let cool
5-6 cardamom pods opened and seeds crushed into a powder

Preheat oven to 350 degrees
In a mixer blend flour, baking powder, and salt.
In a large bowl mix the smashed bananas, egg whites, brown sugar, cardamom, and cooled brown butter. Mix until incorporated.
Start the mixer on low and slowly pour in wet mix until all blended together.
Pour mix into a parchment covered bread pan. Shake around a little until even in pan.
Bake in oven for about 20 mins until browned on top and when an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Serve sliced with butter, jam or even almond butter! Yum!

20120705-161603.jpg

20120705-161609.jpg

Leave a Reply

