Brown butter cookies ,beets, and crafting

19 Jun

I was actually quite productive the last few days. First off I made a small batch of pickled beets from beets I had laying around from the farmers market. Haven’t tried them yet, but I’ll update in a few weeks after I let them sit. Crossed fingers!

I saw a beautiful beaded necklace on pinterest and thought to myself that I might actually be able to make it. My sister has a huge collection of beads and supplies so I parked myself at the kitchen table with a strongbow and got at it. It was actually really easy, just time consuming. I was pretty happy with the result and got lots of compliments when i wore it to a potluck this past Sunday.

Brown butter PB chip cookies. Yes I know, sounds amazing right? Make them now. Oh jeez…you will eat them all and be forced to give some away to a friend so they are away from your little mouths. Sidenote: she ate all her cookies for breakfast today.
I am a big fan of Joy the baker. Her blog, www.joythebaker.com,is a favorite. She recently put out a cookbook full of buttery,sugary delights and this is where I discovered these little devil cookies. Crispy on the outside, soft in the middle. I made these for a potluck for people I was meeting the first time. They will help make you new friends.

Brown butter cookies
*recipe credit to joy the baker

1 cup unsalted butter
1 cup granulated sugar
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 large egg
1 egg yolk
2 1/4 cup AP flour
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda
1 cup PB chips ( or chocolate whatever you prefer)

Brown 1/2 cup of the butter in a saucepan. To brown lightly boil the butter until it starts crackling a bit. Once it turns a deep yellow/brown color it’s ready. It almost has a nutty smell. Once done put to the side to let cool.

In a bowl of a stand mixer cream the remaining butter with the granulated sugar until blended. Add the cooled brown butter to the mix with the brown sugar. Cream together. Then add the egg and egg yolk and vanilla and blend until well mixed.

Add a bit at a time the flour, salt and baking soda. Beat at low speed until well mixed. Add the chips after and mix with a wooden spoon.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment paper and spoon small scoops of the batter. Bake for 12-14 minutes or until slightly browned on the edges.

Let cool and try to resist the urge to eat a handful. Makes approx 36 small cookies.

Next time your in the kitchen tune into iTunes and download the Joy the baker podcast. Joy and Tracey from www.shutterbean.com are hilarious and wonderful kitchen companions.

20120618-234203.jpg

20120618-234216.jpg

20120618-234228.jpg

20120618-234236.jpg

Leave a Reply

