Dog treats

15 Jun

If you know my dog, Sophie, you know she loves to eat. First off let me tell you that she is 113lbs of furry love. Her birthday is next week and she will be 2 years old…time goes by so fast. She would eat anything I put in front of her but I wanted to make her something a little more natural not filled with chemicals. There was one recipe I saw but it called for dry milk..who has dry milk kicking around the house? I know I don’t. Anyways so off to the bulk barn I went to search it out. I found a bin of non instant milk. Thinking I had found it I put about 2 cups worth in a bag and went up to the counter. The bag was over $10!!! I don’t think so. So I went home thinking no dog treats for my baby. I was looking over Pinterest ( I just discovered it and it’s taken over my computer) and I saw on a friends board a recipe for dog treats that had ingredients I already had at home. So around 10 pm I decided lets whip up a batch. At first the dough was really sticky and not holding together well. I think it’s because the original recipe called for whole wheat flour and I used brown rice flour. Nothing some time chilling in the freezer won’t change. Long story short, Sophie loves these. Easy to make and it made my house smell all pumpkiny and warm. Side note: pumpkin is suppose to be good and calming for your pups tummy. Always good when your dog likes to eat anything like poop, rocks, toilet paper rolls…

Homemade dog treats:

2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour (I used brown rice flour)
2 eggs
1 cup canned pumpkin
2 tablespoons peanut butter
1/2 teaspoon of salt
3/4 teaspoon of cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Throw all your ingredients into a mixer and mix up. If its too sticky either add a bit more flour or chill in the fridge or freezer till workable.
Flour your counter and roll out dough until about 1/2 inch thick. Cut out with a cookie cutter and lay on a parchment paper covered cookie sheet. Cook for about 40 mins or until they look crispy and ready to go. I had leftover dough so I braided a few links up to make a bigger cookie for a special occasion. Enjoy!

20120615-134639.jpg

20120615-134654.jpg

Leave a Reply

